Questions about shut down relay

Hi to everyone on this forum. I am an air conditioning contractor. I am not a fire alarm tech. I work on commercial a/c and ventilation equipment. So I deal with fire alarm guys from time to time when I have issues with the shut down relay for my equipment. In about 6 different situations the different fire alarm guys don’t really answer my questions clearly. Is the fire alarm trade one of those situations where it has to kept secret? Anyways I will post a picture of this shut down relay. To me it’s a standard relay 24vdc coil voltage with a set of contacts. Red light turns on when the coil is energized. In this particular situation when the panel is in normal operation the relay is receiving 22vdc. So I am guessing when the panel goes into alarm it will stop sending the 22vdc to my relay allowing the coil to de energize then opening the contacts causing my a/c unit shut down. When I ask the alarm guy he said no the relay will still get 22vdc even in alarm mode. He said this is a communicating relay? I understand there are smarter relays. But I’m referring to this particular relay. Sorry I can’t post a picture but here is a pdf to the relay. My relay is very similar but slightly older model maybe

When the fire alarm system is normal and your HVAC unit is running, is the LED on the relay board ON or OFF? If the LED is on when normal the circuit is wired “fail safe” so that the unit will shut down if something happens to the wiring. However, that does not explain why the relay has voltage in standby and alarm situations. The next paragraph offers another option.