I am a newbie a fire alarms. Looking for old fire alarm parts

I was looking online for a simplex 2001, but the prices were eye popping!
Is it possible to pull fire alarms out of old buildings and give them to somebody
I am 14 and i am autistic so no offensive replys
If so let me know in the comment section or hit me up via message

[quote=SimplexFan2006 post_id=87919 time=1606098683 user_id=6232]

Is it possible to pull fire alarms out of old buildings and give them to somebody

[/quote]

If you become aware of a building that’s slated for demolition, feel free to ask the owner or demolition company if you could retrieve the fire alarm equipment!

So if you’re new to fire alarms, I wouldn’t recommend starting out with a Simplex 2001. They’re cool panels, but their age and complexity may become an issue for someone new. I would instead suggest going with a basic conventional panel, like a Fire-Lite MS-2 or MS-4. It’s a fantastic and very easy panel to use, and since getting an MS-2 in January of this year, I have had absolutely no problems with it. Prices may vary on eBay, but I wouldn’t pay anything above $300 for a brand new MS-2. I managed to get my MS-2 for $150 plus shipping brand new in box, and I’m sure you could get one for around that price if you wait long enough. You could also save a decent amount of money and use a security system (like a Honeywell Vista 20p) as a basic fire alarm system. You would need to know how to program it, but with a few YouTube tutorials you should be okay. Whatever panel you decide to get, I would read through some of the topics on here, it has a lot of very useful information and it helped me a lot when I first got my panel.

Official Newageserveralarm created a Fire Alarm Buyer’s Guide to help new enthusiasts like you an idea of what to pick for a first alarm/pull stations/ smoke detectors. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD0EC8FD7759E3686