Unnecessary fire alarm system replacements?

Has anyone here seen some sort of unnecessary fire alarm system replacement before? I’ve heard of this happening before with a perfectly code-compliant Autocall TFX Network system at one of the high schools in my district be replaced with a Notifier NFS-320 network and I just cannot believe it at all.

At the middle school I went to for 6th grade, they had an old (likely Simplex 4002) system with 2901-9838 horns on 4903-9101 strobe plates mounted on the ceiling all throughout the school. The smokes were standard Simplex conventional smokes and there were 4251-20s and 4251-30s everywhere.
When they used the building for a PSAT prep class back before I was a sophomore in high school, most of the alarms were still there but a couple of AH horns replaced some of the dying 9838s and a couple of RSG SP-series pulls replaced a couple of the old Simplex pulls. I remember seeing an EST-3 in the front office but I wasn’t sure whether they were using it with addressable modules or anything.
Then when I came back to help give a concert to the incoming freshmen from that school a couple years later, I noticed that the whole system was replaced by the EST-3 system with SIGA-278 pulls, Signature series smokes, and Genesis signals. Usually the system components are replaced as needed but for some reason they decided to gut the whole system and do a complete reinstall.

I think my dad told me they’re going to do the same thing at the school he works at too. With any luck I might be able to get a couple of Silent Knight SD-500-PS pulls, some Spectralerts, and hopefully the old IFP-1000. Maybe I can get it to work.

My old school district has replaced two reasonably new systems in the past year. Two schools, both with 2009-2012 Fire-Lite MS-9600UDLS systems with the usual Honeywell devices had full replacements this summer. Both schools now have Siemens Cerberus PRO FC924(?) systems with HMS-D pulls, H-Series detectors and Z-Series signals.