At what point did you stop becoming afraid of the fire alarm?

For me, it was around sophomore year of high school (10th grade), and because I started to hang out with my friends more and often go to loud parties the suddenness of the alarms began to drift away, and I didn’t feel like I had to cover my ears while evacuating. It was also at the time that my hearing began to stop being sensitive. I’m starting senior year in two months.

When I entered high school, my high school has voice evac which is less startling and less scary than a traditional horn strobe

After I graduated high school but that was because I was so sure that in college that there wouldn’t be any fire drills or I wouldn’t be caught up in any of them so it bared not to think about it. This despite the fact that the college I went to ORIGINALLY had 4051 horns on 4050-80 flashers with no FIRE lettering which would have been very loud before they upgraded my second year there.

Also I was right. In 9 years if being in college (switching majors around… don’t ask) I was only caught in two of them and they weren’t drills. The faculty lounge microwave ended up burning food and causing smoking to trip the system. :stuck_out_tongue:

Afraid? Maybe around eighth grade, when my interest began to pick up.
I stopped plugging my ears for school fire drills around sophomore or junior year of high school. The ZNS’s still startled me, but otherwise they weren’t too loud. Eventually I just sorta stopped being afraid of the alarms going off.

I was never afraid of the actual alarms myself. I was just started when they went off especially if I knew about it and dreaded it.