Rookie with rookie questions

Hello!

My name is Pete. I live in the Denver CO area; I’m a mechanic by trade. I have been asked by a local church to help with their fire alarm panel (among other things) problems. They had a visit from the local fire marshal, and he gave them 2 weeks to fix the problem. I’ll start by saying I used to work in 2 way communications and I have experience in system integrations and low voltage sensor systems, but I don’t have a clue about this panel. I’m looking for help. First things first, I need to identify the panel. It has a “ground fault” on it. Can anyone identify it, and furthermore help me locate a manual? Thanks so much!

Welcome to the forum. There are people here ready to help. Please give us the brand and model of the panel. We can’t locate a manual or give specific information without that information.

In general, a ground fault can be a field wire nicked in a conduit, caught between a box and the cover or behind a device. It can also be internal to the panel. Nowadays all panels have MOVs between the circuits and ground. If a surge, like nearby lightning, got onto the wiring it could blow an MOV. This usually requires a board replacement. Sometimes a ground fault can be so easy as a leaking battery in the panel.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3ida8ykuhwhr88e/IMG_2129.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/z6030p7ldzzcgop/IMG_2130.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/or3rnp18rr2hm3v/IMG_2131.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nbssp6bmt0twu8q/IMG_2132.jpg?dl=0

I hope I did the pictures right. It’s a Fire Control Instruments SBP. It looks like they got acquired by Honeywell maybe? I can’t get anyone there to talk to me. No surprise there, it seems that it’s gone end-of-life. It has 2 zones, and it’s showing a ground fault. So I can certainly believe that a wire got pinched somewhere. The church is going through some, shall we say “amateur” renovation, so I"m guessing someone put a screw through a wire or something like that.