Connecting a smoke detector IDC to an Arduino Uno 3

Hello,

I’d like to apologize in advance if this has already been answered - I was not able to find an answer while searching the forum.

I want to wire a System Sensor-brand CO1224T carbon monoxide detector to a Arduino Uno 3, but I am not sure what the most viable option would be to do so. I am fairly new to electrical engineering as a whole, what I want to determine is how I can connect the sensor without damaging the board. The 24VDC required for the first two wires is accounted for, and is being provided from a separate source. My concern is simply that the detector will draw more current through the signalling wires than the board is capable of handling. What should I do to prevent damage, or do I have a misconceived notion of how this system operates, and a direct connection will be fine?

Thank you for any advice you can offer.

Welcome to the forums!
The CO1224 has 2 “dry contact” relays: 1 for trouble, 1 for alarm. The relay contacts themselves do not consume/produce current - they are just switches operated by the CO sensor. The trouble relay has 2 terminals, and is closed as long as the detector is powered and operating normally. The alarm relay has 3 terminals, Normally Closed, Common, and Normally Open. When the detector is not in alarm, the relay connects the Normally-Closed and Common terminals, and when the detector alarms, the relay switches, connecting the Common and Normally Open terminals instead.