Troubles on Simplex 4005

Greetings from Maine. My name is Chip Gray, I’m a licenced aircraft mechanic that owns and operate a nice hotel in Freeport, Maine. I’ve got a simplex 4005 that has periodic ground fault troubles . Simplex seems to be unable to troubleshoot the problem, and their sales staff is hot to have me buy a new system. (pretty tough timing for us)
I’ve read some of the posts on this site and can recognize expertise when I see it… so, I’d entertain giving a nice weekend stay and some food to one of you experts if you’d come fix my system and save me some money!
Check out our place at www.harraseeketinn.com

Thoughts??

Unless the ground fault is internal to the panel, which it probably isn’t, the panel does not need to be replaced. Simplex tech’s often don’t trace ground faults (at least not here in my area). Call another service company that is not Simplex and see if they can handle the situation for you. A ground fault is a short to ground at any point in the system, could be on a device or a wire somewhere, but a meter, time, and knowledge is required to handle it.