Phone Line Trouble

Hey Folks,
I’m new to the ‘fire panel’ world and I need some help. I’m an electronics tech by trade and do network cabling but phone is not very common to me.

Our church recently purchased a building with a SIMPLEX 4010 panel and we’re having trouble (pun intended?) with the phone lines. One in particular is causing me grief. They are connected to a DACT card. The RJ31x seems to be connected properly and the phone company tech said it tested fine.

Our secondary line goes into trouble whenever any phone but one is used . I’ve traced all the line as best I can, swapped phones, and isolated phones as best I can, but still can’t find the fault or why only 1 phone can be used. Can anyone tell me the voltages I should be seeing at the RJ31X (on hook, off hook, what does the panel want to see, etc)? We’re thinking a short or crossed wire somewhere but it’s an old building and the wiring is a mess with many daisy chains and hidden splices.

I talked to the previous owner and they also had this problem “sometimes” but ignored it and now I need to fix it.

I’m very close to rewiring the phone system but it will be hard to do in a finished, older building and have it look good (I’m fussy!).

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

Pete

Definitely needs to get fixed… Usually fire panel phone lines come straight from the phone provider and never should interact with the rest of the phone system in the building… Now that being said, most businesses are dropping off of the old analog POTS way of monitoring fire panels in favor of something like Cellular (https://www.firealarmtech.net/wiki/monitoring/cell/) or Radio if your area supports it (https://www.firealarmtech.net/wiki/monitoring/rfradio/). Not only are these modern technologies that are often more reliable than analog POTS, however they are usually cheaper too.