Fire Alarm ID?

Post here if you need help with something related to fire alarms
Post Reply
firealarm2905
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:41 pm
YouTube Username: firealarm2905

Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:12 pm

What is this? I am mainly looking for 3 simple answers. What is this? How much is this worth? And can I rig it so that it can be used as a normal panel w/ a pull station?
Attachments
kk.jpg
.
kk.jpg (198.04 KiB) Viewed 1588 times
User avatar
NewAgeServer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:03 am
YouTube Username: NewAgeServerAlarm
Location: Southern Maine
Contact:

Mon Mar 18, 2013 1:24 am

The first picture -- I've seen that connector before.

Compare it to my Gamewell Z77 Smoke Detector Base--
Image
...and you'll see the similar design.

What you have here is a duct detector. Model CA-4.
It doesn't appear to be addressable.

Typical Pyrotronics / Cerberus just numbering the terminals, I had to dig through the Internet Archive to find an install sheet for my Gamewell Z77.
Gamewell was once owned by Cerberus Pyrotronics before being sold to Pittway.

You're going to need a head to insert into that thing though.
Here are the two heads I have for my Gamewell detector. (Click for larger images)
R7 Photoelectric:
http://computek272.calvinet.com/collectionpics/gamewell_fci/R7.JPGhttp://computek272.calvinet.com/collectionpics/gamewell_fci/R7_back.JPG

D7 Ionization: (mine is labeled DI-4A)
http://computek272.calvinet.com/collectionpics/gamewell_fci/D7.JPGhttp://computek272.calvinet.com/collectionpics/gamewell_fci/D7_back.JPG
Note in the second picture the text under the Gamewell logo: "Member of the Cerberus Group"

Good luck finding them, I have never seen them pop up on eBay. My heads and base were found in a storage room at my dad's former job.
Andrew Davis -- Chief Administrator & Site Owner
The Fire Panel & The Fire Panel Forums
All questions or concerns, please PM here or email at newageserver@thefirepanel.com

My Fire Alarm Site
YouTube Channel
User avatar
Destin
Retired Staff
Retired Staff
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 4:44 pm
YouTube Username: thesdx
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:13 am

Here are heads that would be compatible:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PYROTRONICS-DI- ... 484aa0cca9
http://www.ebay.com/itm/CERBERUS-PYROTR ... 48463937ee

If you could find a wiring diagram, you could possibly use it as a "faux" panel. Most duct detectors have a remote test switch input that you could connect a pull station to, and the normally-open relay can switch power to your notification appliances. Since it requires 120VAC, I wouldn't recommend messing around with it until you find a diagram though.

As for worth, probably not much since it's obsolete and missing the front cover.
Destin L. (thesdx)
My Website — FireAlarmCollector.com
My YouTube Channel
I'm no longer very active on here, but if you wish to contact me, feel free to send me a PM. :wink:
User avatar
NewAgeServer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 12:03 am
YouTube Username: NewAgeServerAlarm
Location: Southern Maine
Contact:

Mon Mar 18, 2013 1:20 pm

That DI-2D head actually uses a different design so it won't fit.

Here's an R7 head:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/GAMEWELL-R7-SMO ... 35b9b375ca
Andrew Davis -- Chief Administrator & Site Owner
The Fire Panel & The Fire Panel Forums
All questions or concerns, please PM here or email at newageserver@thefirepanel.com

My Fire Alarm Site
YouTube Channel
firealarm2905
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:41 pm
YouTube Username: firealarm2905

Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:04 pm

Destin wrote:Here are heads that would be compatible:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PYROTRONICS-DI- ... 484aa0cca9
http://www.ebay.com/itm/CERBERUS-PYROTR ... 48463937ee

If you could find a wiring diagram, you could possibly use it as a "faux" panel. Most duct detectors have a remote test switch input that you could connect a pull station to, and the normally-open relay can switch power to your notification appliances. Since it requires 120VAC, I wouldn't recommend messing around with it until you find a diagram though.

As for worth, probably not much since it's obsolete and missing the front cover.
It's not missing any covers, I just removed them for pictures, And thanks for the listings, but how old is this?
Post Reply