Incompatible Monitor Module Behavior (MS-9050UD)?

Post here if you need help with something related to fire alarms
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Thu May 23, 2013 10:18 pm

I have a new Fire-Lite MS-9050UD, and I have an A*T M300MADT monitor module (the A*T version of the Fire-Lite M300) connected to the panel. The loop protocol is set to CLIP. My Fire-Lite M300 is working correctly, but, whenever I activate the pull station connected to the M300MADT, it does not go into alarm. The module appears to be polling with the system. The only trouble on the system is coming from that A*T monitor module.

If a module is incompatible with the panel, would it poll? Are the two COMM LOSS terminals for the cable shield? Any ideas on how to get this to activate the system?
User avatar
Nathan
I'm Banned!
I'm Banned!
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:21 pm
YouTube Username: nathan12345toto
Contact:

Thu May 23, 2013 10:48 pm

Do you know if the moniter modual works correctly
Nathan H.


Registered user on TFP
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Fri May 24, 2013 9:45 am

I have no idea, that's why I'm trying to figure out how it would be functioning if it was just incompatible.
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Fri May 24, 2013 12:14 pm

I have another quick question:
The LED's on one of my SD355T smoke detectors keeps lighting up steady for about 2 or 3 seconds, then continues to flash. What does this mean? The other one does not do that. Is this a developing maintenance condition?

Thanks!
User avatar
Nathan
I'm Banned!
I'm Banned!
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:21 pm
YouTube Username: nathan12345toto
Contact:

Fri May 24, 2013 2:05 pm

Ya I don't know then sorry.
Nathan H.


Registered user on TFP
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Fri May 24, 2013 2:09 pm

It's alright, this is tricky. I'm hoping a technician knows the answer, and will post it.
User avatar
Nathan
I'm Banned!
I'm Banned!
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:21 pm
YouTube Username: nathan12345toto
Contact:

Fri May 24, 2013 2:15 pm

Ya like magnumalert
Nathan H.


Registered user on TFP
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Fri May 24, 2013 2:37 pm

Never mind...my other detector also just did that.

As far as the monitor module, I still need help.
User avatar
Destin
Retired Staff
Retired Staff
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 4:44 pm
YouTube Username: thesdx
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Sun May 26, 2013 2:32 pm

All of the rebranded M300 modules are compatible with the CLIP protocol. Are you using the proper 47K resistor? Is the pull station connected to contacts 6 and 7? Is the module programmed for class-B wiring? Try shorting together those contacts without the pull station or resistor and see if it activates. Does the panel report a trouble when the resistor is removed? If it's still not working, you might just have a bad module.

As far as the polling LED's, they sometimes tend to freeze or go off for a few seconds at a time. My 7100 occasionally does the same thing.
Destin L. (thesdx)
My Website — FireAlarmCollector.com
My YouTube Channel
I'm no longer very active on here, but if you wish to contact me, feel free to send me a PM. :wink:
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Mon May 27, 2013 5:46 pm

This should explain everything:

User avatar
Destin
Retired Staff
Retired Staff
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 4:44 pm
YouTube Username: thesdx
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Mon May 27, 2013 7:26 pm

"INVREP" stands for invalid reply, meaning that there is a hardware problem with the addressable device. That probably means it's broken. Did you buy the module new or used?
Destin L. (thesdx)
My Website — FireAlarmCollector.com
My YouTube Channel
I'm no longer very active on here, but if you wish to contact me, feel free to send me a PM. :wink:
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Mon May 27, 2013 7:29 pm

Destin wrote:"INVREP" stands for invalid reply, meaning that there is a hardware problem with the addressable device. That probably means it's broken. Did you buy the module new or used?
I bought it new, in an opened package. So, I'm guessing I should return it.
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Thu May 30, 2013 4:54 pm

Hello, the seller was nice enough to ship a new one to me for free, without me returning the other one.

Unfortunately, this one is doing the same thing.

What's odd is that the seller listed it as "new", but stated in the description that it is new in an opened package. Both modules came in a MMF-300 package, without instructions, mounting screws, or the EOL resistor. I left positive feedback stating that not all hardware was included, then the seller lowered the price, and added that the unit is missing resistors to the description. Also, the "new" replacement unit I received had an address already programmed with the rotary switches. Peculiar.

Are you guys positive these re-branded modules will work with a Fire-Lite panel?
User avatar
Destin
Retired Staff
Retired Staff
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 4:44 pm
YouTube Username: thesdx
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Thu May 30, 2013 7:54 pm

Hmmm...something I just realized is that the M300 is an obsolete model. It's possible that it's reporting a model number that the MS-9050UD doesn't recognize. The panel might not be able to support both legacy and new devices on the same loop. Or the seller may just have a bad batch of modules.

In any case, sticking with newer Fire-Lite addressable equipment would be your best bet. Here is a current model that gives you two circuits.
Destin L. (thesdx)
My Website — FireAlarmCollector.com
My YouTube Channel
I'm no longer very active on here, but if you wish to contact me, feel free to send me a PM. :wink:
User avatar
tsscman123
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 942
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:25 pm
YouTube Username: TssCman123
Location: Florida

Thu May 30, 2013 8:05 pm

I have the panel set to CLIP mode, so it can recognize the older and newer series. It might be a bad batch, but they appear to be used. I don't know. I have two separate spots that would take a monitor module, so I need two separate modules, not a dual module. I might just return them for a refund.
Post Reply