Simplexgrinnell 4010ES IDNET Ground Fault

I am a complete novice and am trying to locate a positive earth ground fault on an IDNET “loop” of a Simplex 4010ES FACP. I use the term loop lightly as this seems to be wired more like a tree than anything that could possibly be considered a loop.

After reading many guides on finding the fault, I started at one of the pull stations and checked wires for resistance to ground using a Multimeter. With the mindset that if the multimeter shows an open loop, it was not my problem. I did this through every device/junction box until i found what I thought was my culprit. I replaced the wire and still had the fault on the new wire. I backed the newly installed cable back out of the ceiling until I had an open loop. I then re pulled the wire a few feet away to limit interference from outside sources. When completed, both sides of the wire were open loop.

After connecting everything back together and powering the alarm back up, the fault was back. At the junction box with the new wire, I checked all 3 wires independently of each other and they are all open loop. If I reconnect them all together, I have a read of about 25 Ohms. This seems to challenge everything I know about wiring so I am hoping that someone here might have some experience that could explain/ point me in the right direction for troubleshooting this.

Other pieces of information:

• around 75 devices (pull stations, HVAC cut offs, conveyor cut offs, smoke detectors, heat detectors, Sprinkler system detectors, and a few other things).
  • All wire splicing is done in junction boxes with wire nuts. The majority of the wire is about 40’ off of the ground and is not in conduit. Wire that is withing reasonable reach is in conduit.
  • Not sure what if anything this means but I did notice that If I check for resistance on the FACP while powered up between ground and the negative wire of the loop, the alert goes away.