Building alarm help

Hi everyone,
I found this site in search of help with security alarm systems. I am a HVAC / controls tech for a school dist. I took on a new responsibility to respond to any alarm calls after hours at 13 buildings.The current systems we have gives false alarms on single and multiple zones. I’m sure you guys will forget more than I’ll ever know about building alarms, but if anyone can recommend any sites or books to trouble shoot these I would appreciate it.
I don’t have any info on the brands yet but these systems are mainly 2 key pads, zone expanders, motion detectors and magnets(I think there called reed switches)
Some issues are multiple zones going off at 1 time.
The detectors we use indoors are used outdoors under covered areas, not sure if that could be a problem in the future.

Thanks for any help or comments

Huck01, my apologies if the previous post has caused doubts or concerns about the credibility of this website. There are many professionals and people with great knowledge of these systems available to help you. As mentioned, Andrew, this site’s administrator, has a wealth of knowledge he may be able to share with you. We try to keep a level of professionalism in the help sections, but unfortunately with every professional there are those who are inexperienced. I’m confident a technician or other experienced member will be able to help your with your issue soon.

To start, is this a fire alarm or security system at its core? The mention of motion detectors and similar devices leads me to believe that there is a security system involved somewhere, either in conjunction with an alarm panel or the two integrated together. I know you mentioned you did not have model numbers yet, so we can’t do much to help you until we receive this information.