Motion sensor question?

Post here if you need help with something related to security systems.
Forum rules
Do NOT publicly post default codes for ANY security system or fire alarm panel.
(Rule #8)
User avatar
NickTech99
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:05 am
YouTube Username: Nick Tech99
Location: USA
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:32 am

If I wanted to add some new motions to a security system, could I use cat5e cable which is 24AWG for it because the max ampere that the motions will use is about 50ma total and I know the run will be less then 1000 ft. If not then should I use 22?
Nick H.
Collector and Installer of Fire Alarm and Security Systems
:arrow: Contact: NickTech99@gmail.com
User avatar
ccs46
Dedicated Participant
Dedicated Participant
Posts: 887
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:09 pm
YouTube Username: ccs4646
Location: North Central Florida, USA

Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:54 am

NickTech99 wrote: If I wanted to add some new motions to a security system, could I use cat5e cable which is 24AWG for it because the max ampere that the motions will use is about 50ma total and I know the run will be less then 1000 ft. If not then should I use 22?
This begs the most famous question on this board... :lol:

Is it being used as an actual security system? Or is it your demonstration system?
If it's your actual security system protecting your house, I wouldn't recommend it. If it is a demonstration system that is on a board, It will be alright.
Chris Sprague - Overseer of Sarcasm
User avatar
NickTech99
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:05 am
YouTube Username: Nick Tech99
Location: USA
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 9:33 am

Thanks, I brought up the cat5e cable because I already have a big role of it and wouldn't need to go out and buy some new wire, plus since the cable has 8 conductors in it I could use 4 for feed and 4 for return so I wouldn't have to run two wires up to it.
Nick H.
Collector and Installer of Fire Alarm and Security Systems
:arrow: Contact: NickTech99@gmail.com
User avatar
NickTech99
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:05 am
YouTube Username: Nick Tech99
Location: USA
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:30 am

I have 12vdc and zone coming from the panel to the first motion, and then 12vdc and zone coming out of the first motion and going to the second motion. One cable going to it with 8 instead of two with 4. Two motions one one zone. Can make splice in the basement for it .
Nick H.
Collector and Installer of Fire Alarm and Security Systems
:arrow: Contact: NickTech99@gmail.com
User avatar
kcin556
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1146
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:18 pm
YouTube Username: kcin556
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:37 am

You would just use a 22/4 cable from the panel to the first motion detector, then another 22/4 cable from the first motion detector to the second. There is no need for the second set of 4 conductors.
Nick - Administrator
Please send me a PM if you experience any issues or have any concerns. Thank you!
kcin556 on YouTube
User avatar
NickTech99
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:05 am
YouTube Username: Nick Tech99
Location: USA
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:47 am

I know I could do that I just thought I would use what I already had, thanks.
Nick H.
Collector and Installer of Fire Alarm and Security Systems
:arrow: Contact: NickTech99@gmail.com
User avatar
kcin556
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1146
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:18 pm
YouTube Username: kcin556
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:58 am

Ah, I understand. However, you still need to be careful about the terminals on the motion detector. They will have a maximum and minimum gauge of wire that can be accepted in the terminal, denoted as 18-22 AWG, 12-18 AWG, etc. The small terminals for security devices are often 18-22 AWG, while CAT 5 cable is usually between 22-26 AWG, 24 AWG nominal. This means the terminal may not grasp the wire correctly, resulting in a poor connection.

Again, it is possible to use CAT 5 for this application, but there are things you need to watch out for, and it is certainly not recommended.
Nick - Administrator
Please send me a PM if you experience any issues or have any concerns. Thank you!
kcin556 on YouTube
User avatar
NickTech99
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:05 am
YouTube Username: Nick Tech99
Location: USA
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:03 am

Great thanks
Nick H.
Collector and Installer of Fire Alarm and Security Systems
:arrow: Contact: NickTech99@gmail.com
User avatar
NickTech99
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:05 am
YouTube Username: Nick Tech99
Location: USA
Contact:

Sat Oct 03, 2015 5:02 pm

ok, I will do that I have 3 free zones available. Also what is the best way to secure this wire, because the insulated cable tackers look a little large for that size of cable. Would you now which kind, thanks.
Nick H.
Collector and Installer of Fire Alarm and Security Systems
:arrow: Contact: NickTech99@gmail.com
User avatar
NickTech99
Casual Participant
Casual Participant
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:05 am
YouTube Username: Nick Tech99
Location: USA
Contact:

Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:05 pm

I just received the motions today and was flipping through the manual. It says that you should use 22 AWG like your were saying but then it says the wire has to be a minimum of 0.5mm in diameter which 24 AWG is. Also below it gives you a chart that says you can use 24 AWG for runs under 200m which is what I am doing. Since it says it in the manual am I allowed to use 24 AWG?Image
Nick H.
Collector and Installer of Fire Alarm and Security Systems
:arrow: Contact: NickTech99@gmail.com
Post Reply