2020 Site Updates and Ownership

Hello, all.

I wanted to bring you up to speed on some exciting developments for this website! My name is Zach, and I’ve been active in the fire alarm community since 2010 and continue to advance within the hobby. Some of you may be familiar with the Fire Alarm Collectors and Technicians Discord server that I’ve been running for the past two years.

I have recently taken over the domain for https://www.thefirepanel.com in its entirety, and am working to merge it with my website, https://www.firealarmtech.net. Over the next few weeks, you should see some updates coming to this site as we work to bring our forums up to date. I would like to mention the Wiki that I have on my website. This is similar to the Wiki that we formerly had here, with more updated information. Additionally, I have rebuilt the Simplex model number checker and have a more updated database as people have come to me with more model numbers.

With me, I am bringing along three of my moderators from the Discord server, Miniman0404 (Johann) and Robert A, and Katy. They will be working with me to ensure that the transition will go smoothly and that the forums will be moderated effectively. To be clear, this site will remain known as The Fire Panel forums.

To give you a layout of our immediate plan of action, we have outlined the following items that we will be addressing in the very near future:
• Bringing the forum software up to date to ensure the highest level of security for all users
• Reformatting the forum rules in such a way that they will be easier to understand
• Restructuring the forum hierarchy and layout to make discussions more organized
• Archiving outdated/closed discussion threads to improve organization
• Installing security measures to reduce outside spam and false user accounts

We hope that you will enjoy the upcoming changes to The Fire Panel forums!

1 Like