Fixing and Expanding a Vista 20P, for a Newb

Hi all! I’m a first time poster so please let me know if I’m doing anything wrong.

I have a family member who has a 2013 Honeywell Vista 20P. Whoever installed the panel didn’t seem to have any idea what they were doing. The wires are a mess and there are boxes of some sort hanging out of the panel. The system appears to be working, but suffice to say, it needs some help.

Currently, the system is not monitored (I think the original company went out of business, but I don’t know the full story there). We’d like to get it monitored by a company eventually, but until then, we want to take care of the wiring issues and make sure the system is functional. That’s where my questions come in.

1. Does anyone know of a good beginner’s guide to working on Vista 20Ps? I know there’s manuals out there, but I’m new to security systems and I’d like something a bit more comprehensive than installer-speak. Wiki format would be great but I’ll take whatever suggestions you have!

2. Is there a way to hook up speakers with custom voice messages to the system? I’d like to create my own messages to put on the system for fire, carbon monoxide, and burglary.

3. When we get monitoring for the system, is there a way to send medical emergency alerts via the 20P? For reasons that I will not discuss, I think this family member would benefit from having a medical alert pull station.

4. Does the Vista 20P support distinct smoke and CO detection? If I have to tie them all in as fire, then so be it; but I would prefer they be distinct.

5. The system has some System Sensor i3s on it now. I’d like to add more of those and some System Sensor CO detectors, but where can I find some (especially the CO detectors) for a good price?

If you know of a better place for me to ask these questions, please let me know! Thank you for reading!

Edits (to this post and any applicable replies): spelling corrections.