Honeywell Silent Knight SK-5208 - "Com 0 Trb"

I am a low-voltage alarm contractor in Georgia and I am donating my time to an organization for retrofitting an outdated conventional FACP. I received a donation of a new Honeywell SK-5208 FACP and peripherals for the work effort. All said, and not having much experience with this panel, or for that matter, much of the Honeywell products, I have run into a “Com 0 Trb” that prevents the dialer from operating. It is a simple system to install and operate so I am at a loss on resolving the issue. I have submitted a ticket with Honeywell, but since I am not a distributor of their products, the response has been very slow from the tech support team. So, from your experience, is this a hardware issue, firmware, or? Thanks in advance for your expert advice :wink:

1 Like

The 5208 uses two telephone lines to communicate status information to a central station. Have you programmed the central station phone numbers, account number and dialer format?

1 Like

are the wires connected to the dialer, and if yes are they wired correctly?

1 Like

From the book:

Com # Trb

The SK-5208 must use alternating phone lines (according to NFPA) when reporting auto tests and manual tests. If the control panel can not communicate using the selected phone line, the Com # Trb message will be displayed. The # indicates which line had the trouble.

The trouble condition will clear after the control panel is successful in communicating using the phone line.

######################################

Seems kind of strange that 0, instead of 1 (line 1) or 2 (line 2). Of course, though Silent Knight may use 0 and 1 for line 1 and line 2. IDK, rarely pay attention to that. I program systems with a laptop. First, see if your phone line has 52VDC (or so) on hook. 6 VDC (or so) off hook. (assuming you have a phone line)