How I missed out on a Simplex 2001 FACP

I’m still pretty salty about this one months later. I’m an electrical apprentice in the field, so I often see fire alarms being removed and replaced on a job. About 6 months ago, we helped out another affiliated electrical contractor at a brewery, and the old building contained an Simplex 2001 system, but by the time I got there, there was only a Back-box for a Simplex 2903 light plate, a lone Simplex 4251-20, and the Simplex 2001 panel itself. For whatever reason, someone mounted a security keypad over the “Simplex 2001” text. I was going to inquire about acquiring the remnants of the system, but was told by the GC that they were planning on reusing the 2001 panel. Fair enough I thought, until I went back to the job a few weeks later to find that the 2001 panel had been replaced by a Silent Knight panel. To this day I still wish I would’ve known they were removing that panel, and at the very least go fish it out of the dumpster.

2 Likes

Yeah, I hate when that happens too.

1 Like

That happened to me, we have been doing this theater for years, with Edwards 333-Ds. I was trying to save all the single stroke bells because they were talking about an eventual renovation. Thing was, we didn’t get the contract unfortunately, and now the bells are gone and replaced with those System Sensor ‘L’ series horn/strobes.

1 Like