I wrote an essay

I have written what i hope to be a decent essay. if anyone is interested in reading it, let me know.

1 Like

Id like to read it I am a writer but I like to read other peoples work too

1 Like
2 Likes

My thoughts on your essay:
#1: First & foremost, companies have their reasons for discontinuing products: better technology, better designs, code changes, etc. It usually makes perfect sense when they do discontinue some products & replace them with others, but just the same that doesn’t mean that we can’t do our part to help preserve them: if anything it’s important that actual buildings have the best life safety systems & devices they can (including the most up-to-date). In fact some of the devices you listed, such as lights & frosted strobes, were phased out over time due to changes in regulations, thus a lot of them will never be coming back.

#2: Edwards/EST’s Genesis does temporal 3 by default, thus as long as the NAC they’re connected to remains on continuous they’ll do temporal 3 as required by regulations (though if the system’s coding is changed to temporal 3 so that all signals sound in the pattern so as to be code-compliant then there might be a problem (though there’s always the option of running the Genesises off separate NAC extenders/power supplies that are set to continuous, which would solve the problem).

#3: Most of the time when systems are upgraded everything in them is replaced for consistency, in the cases where only inoperative devices are replaced however there’s usually no concern for differences (including operation-wise) between devices (if anything some systems are left on their previous/original pulse pattern (such as continuous or march time) even if it’s not compliant with regulations): as long as the system works properly & is approved that’s all that usually matters. Upgrades may be expensive, but they’re routine, & as I’ve said they’re the best way of ensuring that the whole system works the best it can.